Hakluyt Society Trustees 2016 - 2017

How to Join, Membership Benefits
News and Forthcoming Events
Research Funding, Essay Prize, etc.
The Society's Objectives & Rules
Recent and Projected Publications
The Society's History
Publications, Reprints & eBooks
Annual Lectures in Print
Complete Bibliography
Regional Guides to the Society's Books
Trustees of the Hakluyt Society
Australian News & Members' Bulletins
Hakluyt's Navigations: census of copies
Exploration Links
Information for Authors
Members' Login

The Trustees and International Representatives of the Hakluyt Society

2019 - 2020


Professor Jim Bennett


Professor Glyn Williams (past president)

Professor Suzanne Schwarz
Professor Will Ryan (past president)
Capt. Michael Barritt (past president)
 Professor Roy Bridges (past president)
 Dr Sarah Tyacke (past president)
Professor Felipe Fernández-Armesto


(with date of most recent election)

Dr Edmond Smith (2017)
Professor Michael Brennan (2018)
Dr Jack Benson (co-opted) Mr Lionel Knight (2019)
Dr Guido van Meersbergen (co-opted) Royal Geographical Society:
Dr Bronwen Everill (2017)
Dr Sarah Evans (2020)
Dr John McAleer (2015)
Dr Joan-Pau Rubiés (2016) 
Professor Ladan Niayesh (2017) Dr John Smedley (2018)
Mr Peter Barber (2019)
Dr Felicity Stout (2017)
Dr Nicholas Evans (2016)Dr Eva Johanna Holmberg (2019)
Dr Megan Barford (2018)
Professor Claire Jowitt (2019)
Mr Anthony Payne (2019)

Dr Catherine Scheybeler (2019)



Honorary Treasurer
Alastair Bridges

Honorary Joint Series Editors
Dr Gloria Clifton
Professor Joyce Lorimer

Honorary Editor (Online Publications)
Raymond John Howgego FRGS

Honorary Archivist
Dr Margaret Makepeace

Honorary Advisor (Contracts)
Bruce Hunter

Honorary Administrative Editor
Dr Katharine Parker


Australia: Dr Martin Woods,
Curator of Maps, National Library of Australia, Canberra, ACT 2601

Canada: Professor Cheryl Fury
Department of History and Politics, University of New Brunswick,
Saint John, NB, E2L 4L5

Central America: Dr Stewart D. Redwood
PO Box 0832-1784, World Trade Center
Panama City, Republic of Panama

China: Professor May Bo Ching
Department of Chinese and History, City University of Hong Kong
Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong

France: Professor Pierre Lurbe
Sorbonne Université, 1 rue Victor Cousin
75005 Paris

Germany: Monika Knaden,
Lichtenraderstrasse 40, 12049 Berlin

Iceland: Professor Anna Agnarsdóttir
Department of History, University of Iceland
Arnagardur Vid Sudurgotu, Reykjavik 101

India: Professor Supriya Chaudhuri
Department of English, Jadavpur University, Kolkata

Ireland: Professor Jim McAdam OBE
Queen’s University of Belfast and Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland,
c/o 16B Dirnan Road, Cookstown, Co Tyrone BT80 9XL

Japan: Dr Derek Massarella,
Faculty of Economics, Chuo University, Higashinakano 742-1,
Hachioji-shi, Tokyo 192-03

Netherlands: Dr Anita van Dissel,
Room number 2.66a, Johan Huizingagebouw Doezensteeg 16,
2311 VL Leiden

New Zealand: Dr John Holmes,
PO Box 6307, Dunedin North, Dunedin 9059, New Zealand

Portugal: Dr Manuel Ramos,
Av. Elias Garcia 187, 3Dt, 1050 Lisbon

Russia: Professor Alexei V. Postnikov,
Institute of the History of Science and Technology,
Russian Academy of Sciences, 1/5 Staropanskii per.,
Moscow 103012

South America: Sr Sergio Zagier,
Cuenca 4435, 1419 Buenos Aires, Argentina

Spain: Dámaso de Lario, Embajador de España
Calle Los Borja, 3, 3ª, 46003 València

Switzerland: Dr Tanja Bührer,
Universität Bern, Historisches Institut, Unitobler,
Länggasstrasse 49, 3000 Bern 9

United States: Professor Mary C. Fuller
Literature Section, 14N-405, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA, 02139-4307.

All Original Material, Translations and HTML Coding Copyright © The Hakluyt Society 1998 - 2019. All rights reserved.